I pray that everyone reading this had a safe and happy Thanksgiving holiday.  A day that we come together not only to eat, but to give thanks for the many blessings in our lives.  Everyday we encounter challenges and too often these are the things we focus on.  Not only this week, but every day, we need to look for the good things in our lives and give thanks.

I am thankful for the opportunity I have to own not one, but two businesses.  I am grateful to my wonderful customers and clients who support my local company and give us the opportuity to serve them.  Your customers have a choice and they chose you.  What have you done lately to show them how much you appreciate them?

I am so very thankful for an amazing team who always comes through.  In his book Good to Great, Jim Collins writes about having “the right people on the bus”.   I am thankful that I have those people.  A staff whose focus is on quality and doing things right the first time.  A team that puts the customer first and always has each other’s back.  A team that is willing to go above and beyond in spite of the sacrifice.  A team that treats my business like it is their own and strives for success.

Can you say that you have the right people on the bus?  If so, do they know how much you appreciate them and how thankful you are for them?  Words, no matter how important, only go so far.  What have you done lately to show them?  If you don’t, there will be someone else out there that recognizes their skills and talents and will be more than happy to pull them over to their side.

Be thankful everyday for the blessings you have in your life and your work.  Look for the things that matter and give thanks.  Show people how much you appreciate them and how grateful you are to have them in your life.  Especially remember your work family; your customers and employees.  Where would you be today without them?